Mission Creek Festival

When: April 7, 2017 @ 5:00 pm
Where: Downtown Iowa City, Iowa City, IA

7TH ANNUAL LIT CRAWL   5 to 8 p.m.   Various Venues Writers and publishers from across the country invade nine downtown Iowa City businesses for three hours of literary mayhem. In all, more than 55 authors[...]

April 7, 2017 @ 5:00 pm
Festival Pass: $164.00


  5 to 8 p.m.
  Various Venues
Writers and publishers from across the country invade nine downtown Iowa City businesses for three hours of literary mayhem. In all, more than 55 authors will represent over 18 publishers and literary organizations, as well as MFA candidates from the University of Iowa’s own Anthology Reading Series…

Podcast Recording


  5 p.m.
  Iowa City Public Library
As instructor of the ever-popular NYU course, “The Science of Happiness,” and as author of U Thrive (April), Dan Lerner is using positive psychology to help people lead happy lives.

with DIIV


  8 p.m.
  Englert Theatre
Culled together from the concrete deserts and decades-old industry of the city’s wrong-side-of-the-tracks, Karen Meat first appeared in the Des Moines scene at a Battle of the Bands. At the time, the band was a duo with Bradley Turk sharing songwriting and lead responsibilities with the band’s namesake member, Arin Eaton…

with Pieta Brown, The Feralings


  8 p.m.
  The Mill
Veteran tunesmith Dick Prall has taken his wares and shared them with violinist Kristina Priceman to create a collection of dark, gorgeous, and oft-times moony sing-alongs. Dickie is the exploration of subtle symphonies over creative prose, indie popped out melodies…

with Tennis, Sires


  9 p.m.
The Port Authority is a rock band from Iowa City, IA, originally formed in October 2014 by dorm room neighbors Landon Kuhlmann (vox, guitar) and Jens Hoifeldt (guitar). After releasing two EPs and taking a short hiatus, the band recruited Mitch McAndrew to play bass and David Galloway to play drums in early 2016. Blending styles like garage rock…

with Tashi Dorji & Tyler Damon, 75 Dollar Bill


  9 p.m.
  Trumpet Blossom Cafe
Daniel Wyche is a Chicago-based guitarist, composer and improviser, working with a wide range of physical preparations, extended techniques, and filter and delay instruments, in order to isolate, draw out and explore the relationships between forms of resonance, overtones and noise…

with Jlin


  9 p.m.
  Iowa City Yacht Club
Come out to the Yacht Club and dance with us at this year’s Misison: Beat, featuring local DJs Lazarus, Attentat, Alala.one, and bTsunami.

with Pieta Brown, Dickie


  9 p.m.
  The Mill
The Feralings are Benj Upchurch (mandolin / vocals), Nicole Upchurch (clawhammer banjo / vocals), Patrick Brickel (upright bass / vocals), and Stacy Webster (acoustic guitar / vocals), but the name is a bit of a misnomer, as the members of the band are far more likely to invite you to sit down and enjoy a cup of tea than they are to jump you and steal your beer money…

with Karen Meat


  9:15 p.m.
  The Englert Theatre
Slip into a blissful daydream with DIIV, the oceanic brainchild of Brooklyn, NY-based Zachary Cole Smith (Soft Black, Beach Fossils). A tribute to the Nirvana song and an acknowledgement of how each band member has a water astrological sign, the ebb and flow of hazy vocals, swells of distorted guitar noise and mumbled bass mimic the foreseeable yet dream-inducing beauty…

with Tashi Dorji & Tyler Damon, Daniel Wyche


  9:45 p.m.
  Trumpet Blossom Cafe
75 Dollar Bill was formed in 2012 by percussionist Rick Brown and guitarist Che Chen. They immediately embraced an exhaustive local gigging schedule that found them playing at rock clubs, DIY spaces…

with Tennis, Port Authority


  10 p.m.
SIRES is a three piece, pop band from Des Moines, Iowa. Their soulful vocal harmonies arranged with sweeping strings and violent distorted bass give you a glimpse of what Chet Baker might have sounded like if he grew up in the post-punk Midwest. Having achieved regional success under different monikers…

with The Cool Kids, PZ x Cubist


  10:15 p.m.
  Blue Moose Tap House
Owen Bones, the nom de plume of Chicago producer Owen Jones, is a name you should know if you don’t already. 22-year-old Bones made waves in early 2016 with his EP Surrender!, a high energy, three-song release featuring guests artists/friends…

with Dickie, The Feralings


  10 p.m.
  The Mill
It was in hotel rooms across the country that Pieta Brown wrote most of the songs on her gorgeous new album, Postcards. Like any touring musician, she was on the road to survive, balancing the rewards of performing music for a living with the challenges of trying to stay connected to loved ones and other artists while in motion…

with 75 Dollar Bill, Daniel Wyche


  10:45 p.m.
  Trumpet Blossom Cafe
Tashi Dorji, whose chance encounter with the guitar as a teenager has led him to a passionate career in experimental music and improvisation, with over 16 albums and EPs of original guitar compositions under his belt. Growing up in the sparsely populated country of Bhutan…

with Owen Bones, PZ x Cubist


  10:45 p.m.
  Blue Moose Tap House
Mikey Rocks (Antoine Reed) and Chuck Inglish (Evan Ingersoll) are The Cool Kids, a duo we thought was lost in the iconic sound of the mid 2000’s hip hop scene. After taking a hiatus due to a multitude of issues, the famous duo announced their return in the summer of 2016…

with SIRES, The Port Authority


  11 p.m.
Tennis is comprised of couple Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley. The Denver-based duo began writing music together as a way to document their time living at sea on a small forty-year-old sailboat. The result was their first release, Cape Dory (2011), which saw them quickly become one of the most alluring and blogged-about bands of the new decade…

with Mission: Beat DJs


  11:30 p.m.
  Iowa City Yacht Club
Gary, Ind.-based producer Jlin, who some of you might remember for her track “Erotic Heat” (Bangs and Works Vol.2 – Planet Mu 2011), or from her moment in the mainstream light providing music for fashion designer Rick Owens’ F/W 14 Paris runway show, is stepping further into the light with a stunning eleven track debut album…