IOWA CITY DOWNTOWN DISTRICT

Board of Directors Meeting Meeting Minutes from May 24, 2018

Voting Members Present: Mark Ginsberg, Michelle Galvin, Kent Jehle, Bill Nusser, Joni Schrup, David Kieft, Wesley Ward, Nick Lindsley, Ritu Jain, George Etre, Jason Deppe

Non-Voting Members Present: Aimee Jennings, Kate Moreland, Wendy Ford, David Kleft, Katie Roche, Mary Kate Pilcher Hayek

Staff Present: Nancy Bird, Betsy Potter, Christopher Hunter, Thomas Agran

Voting Members Absent With Notice: Susan Craig

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 9:04 in the MidWestOne Bank Conference Room. A quorum of 11 of 17 voting members was present.

1) Approval of Minutes

Joni Schrupp moved to approve the minutes from the 4/26/18 meeting. The motion was seconded by Ritu Jain. *The motion passed 11-0.*

2) Approval of Finance Report

Kent Jehle presented the financials. He noted that the budget is on track on the income side and with expenses being under, but events in May and June will bring that down. Kent Jehle moved to approve the Finance Report. The motion was seconded by David Kent. *The motion passed 11-0.*

3) Ex Officio Reports

There were no Ex Officio reports

4) FY19 Budget Proposal

Nearly the whole agenda focused on discussion surrounding the draft of the FY 2019 budget. The budget was made with consideration of ICDD's strategic planning initiatives and member input. The structure of the budget was kept the same and reflected the increase of income and expenditures by 5.7% compared to FY18 budget.

New additions to the budget that were discussed included adding a fourth full time position to ICDD, a new modified round of Co-Sign with 10 new businesses getting signs, increasing community policing by adding a nighttime officer, increase power washing, moving the ICDD office to the Raygun location, and funding the Englert/FilmScene Capital Campaign.

Board members agreed adding a nighttime officer would help contribute to a cleaner and safer environment downtown and to trial it for a year to see how it goes. The idea of the ICDD moving to the first floor of the available Raygun space with the CVB as a 'Welcome Center' was

discussed. It was agreed that this concept would need further discussion with MERGE (ICAD and Chamber) before a vote. Members liked the idea of supporting the Englert/FilmScene Capital campaign, but decided we would need to discuss guidelines for allocating funds to other groups or non-profits.

The last five minutes of the agenda consisted of approving nominations for next year's board members and approving a slate of officers. Members are allowed to be on the board for three years, take a year off, and then be nominated to join again. The nominations and slate are listed below:

<u>Nominations</u>: Kent Jehle moved to approve the nominations. The motion was seconded by David Kieft. *The motion passed 11-0.*

Mary Kate Hayek - renewing for a 2nd term

Wesley Ward - renewing for a 2nd term

Amber Neville (Willow & Stock) - 1st term replacing Ritu Jain (>3,000 sf business)

Greg Turner - 1st term replacing Kent Jehle (owns <1% total value)

Monica Moen - 1st term replacing Bill Nusser (owns <1% total value)

Jigna Jani - 1st term replacing George Etre (<3,000 sf business)

<u>Slate of Executive Officers</u>: Kent Jehle moved to approve the nominations. The motion was seconded by David Kieft. *The motion passed 11-0.*

Michelle Galvin - President

Mary Kate Hayek - President - Elect

Greg Turner - Treasurer

Susan Craig - Secretary

Naftaly Stramer - Past President

5) Adjourn

The next meeting will be June 28 at the ICPL in Meeting Room D. Ritu Jain moved to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Kent Jehle. *Motion passed 11-0.*